Sep 022011
Rock Band DLC

Still technically on vacation so another quick info post for this week’s DLC announcement. Though I will say that I love (almost) every song. Coming next Tuesday is a three pack from Cheap Trick and the appearance of the rumoured single from EMF.


The Songs

* Cheap Trick – “I Want You to Want Me (Live)
* Cheap Trick – “Surrender (Live)+
* Cheap Trick – “Dream Police
* EMF – “Unbelievable (Re-Record)” +

+ = pro-guitar/bass chart available


The Thoughts (briefly)

As noted above, both “I Want You to Want Me” and “Surrender” are live versions, but they’re live versions from 1978’s Cheap Trick at Budokan, so the liveness should in no way dissuade you from picking these up. I certainly would, were it not for the fact that I loathe “I Want You to Want Me”. The other Cheap Trick tracks I’ll be getting without hesitation.

I was pretty tickled when I saw the rumours for “Unbelievable”, that song being an odd little footnote in my life’s soundtrack. If you haven’t heard it, it’s not so much a GOOD song as one that’s catchy as hell. It’s like a punk/dance rock/rap fusion, with a lead singer sporting a thick British accent and like a half dozen hooks flowing throughout the song. This version is a rerecord which gives me momentary pause, but Harmonix has an awesome history with rerecords so I’m not too worried. Still, I’ll be giving it a preview before I buy, and recommend you do the same to avoid any surprises (the Spinal Tap pack taught me well). And definitely make sure you give the song a listen if you either don’t know it or don’t remember it. Oh!

  • Novareinna

    Unbelievable:  Not to mention the intermittent (and frequent) “WTF was that?” from Andrew Dice Clay which somehow managed to make it past the radio censors…!!

  • Novareinna

    Oh…and I’m totally on the same page with you when it comes to “Want You To Want Me.” Few songs/lyrics make me grimace involuntarily quite like that one.